The RUDU contingent at Boston University celebrates a third straight Novice Final victory. Left to right: Thomas O'Rourke, Henry Phipps, Rachel Cusumano, Quinn Maingi, Deepta Janardhan, Ashley Novak, Chris Bergman, Rachel Moon, Kurt Falk, Amanda Gaetano, Storey Clayton, Bhargavi Sriram, Kyle Bomeisl, Alex Jubb, Adam Bomeisl, Stephen Yellin, Arbi Llaveshi, Russell Potter, and Corey Girard.

The Rutgers University Debate Union (RUDU) notched a third straight Novice Final round victory and the second straight for dominant novice team Quinn Maingi & Kurt Falk. Both Novice Final wins for the team have been on Government and have crowned Maingi & Falk novice champions of the respective tournaments. This time, the round was at Boston University, where APDA Elections for the coming year’s Executive Board were also held. In those elections, Ashley Novak was elected Member at Large and will be the first RUDU member ever to serve on the APDA Board.

Here are the accomplishments logged at BU:
Quinn Maingi & Kurt Falk – 1st Novice Team
Quinn Maingi – 3rd Novice Speaker

With three tournaments left in the 2012 regular season, RUDU remains ranked 8th in the country. The next two weekends will focus on qualifying more individuals for the National Championships. Rutgers is currently tied for 4th in the country with four debaters qualified (Chris Bergman, Ashley Novak, Kyle Bomeisl, and Maingi). Five more debaters have points toward qualification. Points are earned by reaching the varsity quarterfinals or higher.

The win by Maingi & Falk keeps them at 3rd-ranked team of the year in the unofficial Novice Team of the Year (NTOTY) standings. However, they beat the two teams higher than they are, from Brandeis and AU, en route to the BU Novice Championship.

Ashley Novak (center) is joined by rival candidates for Member at Large of the APDA Executive Board, as Ashley Woods (far right) presides.
Quinn Maingi in Novice Finals at BU (left) and Kurt Falk in Novice Semis at BU (right). The pair are one of the three best novice teams on APDA this year.