The Rutgers contingent gathers for a team picture in the twilight after Maryland. Top: Arbi Llaveshi; Second Row: Quinn Maingi, Asher Wasserman, Bhargavi Sriram, Sarthi Tuli, Leland Perice; Third Row: Chris Bergman, Ashley Novak, Henry Phipps, Meet Patel, Adam Bomeisl; Bottom Row: Storey Clayton, Henna Nain, Alex Jubb, Kyle Bomeisl.

At the University of Maryland, College Park (UMCP) this weekend, the Rutgers University Debate Union (RUDU) broke to varsity outrounds at the fourth straight tournament this year, placing Ashley Novak & Chris Bergman in quarterfinals. Brothers Kyle Bomeisl & Adam Bomeisl narrowly missed the quarterfinal break, finishing 9th team. Meanwhile, on the novice side, Quinn Maingi & Alex Jubb broke to novice semifinals and Quinn Maingi broke into the Novice of the Year (NOTY) standings with a 2nd novice speaker finish at Maryland.

Here are the official accomplishments:
Ashley Novak & Chris Bergman – 8th Team
Kyle Bomeisl & Adam Bomeisl – 9th Team
Ashley Novak – 6th Speaker
Chris Bergman – 10th Speaker
Quinn Maingi & Alex Jubb – 4th Novice Team
Quinn Maingi – 2nd Novice Speaker

The speaker award for Bergman was his first varsity speaker finish of all-time, while partner Novak entered the Speaker of the Year (SOTY) rankings for the first time this year after finishing in the top 60 last year. Both Maingi and Jubb now stand in the top ten of the NOTY rankings, with Maingi 7th in the country and Jubb 10th.

The season continues this weekend at Syracuse in APDA style and Yale in British Parliamentary style. Rutgers will be sending representatives to both tournaments.

Tomorrow night will be the inaugural New York Clash Debate, hosted by the Columbia University Parliamentary Debate Society. RUDU will be a quarter of the debate, joining teams from Fordham, NYU, and Columbia to discuss the relative merits of engineering vs. liberal arts in post-secondary education. The contest will start at 6:30 PM in Roone Arledge Auditorium on the Columbia University campus. The event is open to the public and admission is free.