The Rutgers horde gathers at TCNJ after a second straight weekend in semifinals. Left to right: Thomas O'Rourke, Cathy Guo, Storey Clayton, Sarthi Tuli, Asher Wasserman, Shireen Hamza, Deepta Janardhan, Jason Boyle, Ashley Novak, Arbi Llaveshi, Kyle Bomeisl, Quinn Maingi, Chris Bergman, Kurt Falk, Henry Phipps, Russell Potter, Alex Jubb, Stephen Yellin, and Adam Bomeisl.

The Rutgers University Debate Union (RUDU) stormed down Route One for one of its best tournaments of the year at The College of New Jersey (TCNJ). New sophomore/freshman team Adam Bomeisl & Russell Potter led the way, winning their first ever break round together (and individually) en route to a 4th place showing overall. Meanwhile, Chris Bergman & Ashley Novak broke as a team for the sixth time this year and finished 7th. Bergman also won his highest speaker award ever, at 2nd, and Henry Phipps headlined five top novice speakers in the top nine at 3rd.

Here’s the long list of triumphs for RUDU at TCNJ:
Adam Bomeisl & Russell Potter – 4th Team
Chris Bergman & Ashley Novak – 7th Team
Kyle Bomeisl & Stephen Yellin – 9th Team
Henry Phipps & Alex Jubb – 3rd Novice Team
Quinn Maingi & Kurt Falk – 5th Novice Team
Chris Bergman – 2nd Speaker
Kyle Bomeisl – 7th Speaker
Henry Phipps – 3rd Novice Speaker
Quinn Maingi – 4th Novice Speaker
Kurt Falk – 5th Novice Speaker
Nick Guida – 8th Novice Speaker
Russell Potter – 9th Novice Speaker

The tournament brought RUDU over the century-mark in Club of the Year (COTY) points, the metric for the APDA national rankings. With 106.5 points, RUDU is now 8th overall, just passing the University of Chicago with nine weeks left in the regular season. The full rankings can be found here.

The novice speaker awards move Phipps to join four other Rutgers novices in the top 25 in the Novice of the Year (NOTY) rankings. Maingi now stands at 4th, Falk is tied for 7th, Jubb is 16th, and Potter and Phipps are tied for 22nd.

This weekend, Rutgers will host its largest-ever tournament, the Eleventh Annual Rutgers Invitational. More than eighty teams will be visiting the College Avenue campus in New Brunswick to compete at one of the eight unopposed tournaments on the APDA regular-season schedule this season.