RUDU's Nats contingent gathers after Finals with awards won for the year and at Nationals. Left to right: Quinn Maingi, Adam Bomeisl, Alex Jubb, Kurt Falk, Kyle Bomeisl, Ashley Novak, Storey Clayton, Chris Bergman, David Reiss, and Arbi Llaveshi.

The Rutgers University Debate Union (RUDU) closed the year with a solid performance at Nationals, with top team Chris Bergman & Ashley Novak finishing 20th and missing the elimination rounds by an astonishingly small margin of 0.375 speaker points. It was the second year for Bergman posting a 4-2 record but missing the break on speaks. His 8 wins at Nationals are the third most for any Rutgers debater in history. Kyle Bomeisl, debating with Quinn Maingi this year, leads all Rutgers debaters with 11 National Championship wins.

Here are the official Rutgers results from Nats 2012:
Chris Bergman & Ashley Novak – 20th Team
Quinn Maingi – 10th Novice Speaker

The novice speaker award was the latest accolade for Maingi, who also received his 3rd Novice of the Year (NOTY) award at Nationals, a cumulative annual award for first-year debaters. This is the second highest annual ranking of any kind for a Rutgers debater, trailing only Novak’s 2nd place in the same NOTY category last year. Kurt Falk also received his 10th NOTY award at Nationals, marking the first time Rutgers has placed two people in the top ten of any annual category. Rutgers overall finished 9th in the prestigious annual College of the Year (COTY) rankings, the second time RUDU has finished in the top ten. RUDU’s peak thus far was 5th last year.

Adam Bomeisl and Arbi Llaveshi were the third Rutgers team competing at Nationals this year, alongside Bergman/Novak and Kyle Bomeisl/Maingi. Adam was competing in his second Nationals as a sophomore; Llaveshi in his first. Falk and Alex Jubb attended as judges/observers.

Novak was also honored with an unofficial award at the annual Nationals Banquet, where graduating seniors bid farewell to the debate circuit. Kate Falkenstien of Yale passed down the “Miss APDA” award to Novak for best exemplifying what a woman of the debate league should represent. Citing her leadership, dedication, and commitment to fairness, Falkenstien expressed pride in sharing the award with Novak, who will be asked to choose a new recipient in her own senior speech in 2014.

RUDU is graduating just two seniors this year, Kyle Bomeisl, one of the most decorated debaters in Rutgers history, and Amanda Gaetano, a novice who joined debate just this semester. All other debaters are returning, as well as last year’s 11th NOTY (by half a point), Gordon Morrisette, who spent this season studying abroad at St. Andrew’s in Scotland.

A Senior Banquet, the first of its kind, to honor the graduates and commemorate the year, will be help on Tuesday, May 1st at 6:00 PM in Brower. You may contact Kurt Falk for tickets, which are $15 each.